The Human Face of Climate Change

by Jennifer Helgeson

It has been an experience here in Copenhagen, that is for sure.  My day to day work is so focused on theory that seeing how these negotiations work has brought a lot of reflection and realization into my life.

I do reporting for ‘Climatico’ from time to time; the idea is similar to that of ‘Politico’ (American folks might recognize that news platform.) Generally I am responsible for reviewing developments in French climate policy. But at the COP I am keeping track of all things REDD, that is Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and forest Degradation.

But yesterday a presentation from the nation of Kiribati truly touched my soul and I had to write a special report on it.  You can see it here: http://www.climaticoanalysis.org/post/a-developing-nation-in-focus-kiribati/

All I can say, is any climate change denier would change their story if they experienced the ‘human face’ that Kiribati brings to the issue.

Leave a Reply

